Season of Thanks: Elizabeth McAuley

If you had seen Elizabeth on set, you never would have known that this was her first experience acting for a film.  Transitioning from theatre to film work is much harder than most people would think, and many seasoned professionals have trouble with it.

 

But Elizabeth came in and just nailed it.  She was the first person to read for us at the Christiansburg auditions, and I never managed to get her out of my head for the part.  There was something about her that reminded me of how I had always pictured Suzanne.

 

Casting can be such a nebulous process.  I remember at one point with Vanessa when we were pointing out that actresses seemed too “city” for the part that I realized I didn’t even know what that meant.  So it’s hard for me to put too fine a point on why I knew Elizabeth was right.  She just was.

 

Her first day on set wasn’t going to be an easy one, because we were starting with the night scenes and the climax of the film.  She was going to have to be scared for her life almost right out of the gate, not to mention that we also had to deal with the only real “stunt” of the film.  It was freezing cold, and the car that our actors were in was mounted to a trailer so it didn’t have any heat.  I was communicating any adjustments via a walkie talkie, and that can’t be an easy way to take direction.

 

Elizabeth took it all in stride, and she did a fantastic job.  She’s a fantastic actress and I cannot wait to see what she does next, and I can’t wait for the chance to work with her again.

 

Photo Courtesy of Elizabeth McAuley

This entry was posted in castandcrew. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

